Do online schools charge VAT?
Some do, some don't, and some don't say. Private school fees have carried 20% VAT since 1 January 2025, but HMRC's guidance never mentions online schools.
What HMRC says
HMRC defines a private school as "any school or institution that provides full time education for a fee" to children of school age. Its guidance doesn't mention online schools, providers based abroad or home education, and doesn't define "full time" (HMRC, 2026). So online schools have reached different answers.
What each school says
| School | VAT |
|---|---|
| King's InterHigh | Not stated clearly |
| Minerva's Virtual Academy | Included in the price, or absorbed by the school |
| Sophia High School | Added for UK families (£1,920 more a year at the cheapest stage) |
| Queen's Online School | No VAT charged, the fees page says |
| Cambridge Home School Online | Not stated clearly |
| Cambridge Online School | Included in the price, or absorbed by the school |
| Wrenmere Oxford | Included in the price, or absorbed by the school |
| Wendover Online School | Included in the price, or absorbed by the school |
| International British Online School | Not stated clearly |
| Eton Academy | Not stated clearly |
| TLC LIVE Online School | Not stated clearly |
| Oxford Online School | Not stated clearly |
| Net School | Not stated clearly |
| Highgrove Education | Not stated clearly |
| CambriLearn | Not stated clearly |
Our tables add VAT to a school's fee only where the school says it adds it. Where a school is unclear, ask it in writing before you sign.