Key Stage 3 online school fees

13 schools publish a Key Stage 3 price (Years 7 to 9). The first year costs from £4,811 to £18,900, with the registration fee and any VAT added. Key Stage 3 is where most families start an online school, often after a hard Year 7 or 8.

Year's feeAdded in the first year

  1. Net School 10 live hours a week · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £4,811 £4,811
    Nothing added in the first year
  2. Queen's Online School 15 to 22 live lessons a week · not accredited
    £5,249 £5,348
    + registration £99
  3. Eton Academy classes of up to 6 · accredited Oct 2024 · VAT not stated clearly
    £5,900 £6,000
    + registration £100
  4. King's InterHigh about 21 live lessons a week · accredited Jan 2026 · VAT not stated clearly
    £5,995 £6,095
    + registration £100
  5. Oxford Online School live lessons, 8am to 5pm · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £6,000 £6,100
    + registration £100
  6. Cambridge Online School classes of up to 10 · accredited Mar 2026
    £8,986 £8,986
    Nothing added in the first year
  7. Minerva's Virtual Academy 2 to 3 live lessons a day · accredited Jul 2024
    £9,365 £9,365
    Nothing added in the first year
  8. Cambridge Home School Online 2 to 4 live hours a week per IGCSE · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £10,950 £11,150
    + registration £200
  9. Highgrove Education live lessons at set times · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £11,750 £11,750
    Nothing added in the first year
  10. Wendover Online School groups of up to 6 · accredited Mar 2026
    £11,997 £11,997
    Nothing added in the first year
  11. Sophia High School classes of up to 8 · accredited Oct 2023
    £10,815 £13,078
    + VAT £2,163, registration £100
  12. International British Online School five one-hour lessons a day · accredited May 2024 · VAT not stated clearly
    £12,470 £13,465
    + registration £995
  13. Wrenmere Oxford classes of up to 10 · accredited Mar 2026
    £18,900 £18,900
    Nothing added in the first year

No yearly price published: TLC LIVE Online School (from £555 a month, invoiced termly).

The first year is the year's fee plus the one-off registration fee, with VAT added where the school adds it for UK families. Deposits that come back aren't counted. Read on 2 November 2026; a school's own page always wins.

What the chart doesn't show

How much is live. Minerva's and Highgrove mix live lessons with work on your own, so they cost less but ask more of your child. A school with classes of 6 to 10 will feel very different from one where some lessons are lectures to 50.

Exams. Only a few schools run their own exam centre, and none includes the entry fees. Sitting exams as a private candidate explains what that costs.

Questions

What is the cheapest online school for Key Stage 3?

Net School, at £4,811 for the first year including its registration fee. Exams are extra at almost every school.

How much does an online school cost for Key Stage 3?

Across the 13 schools that publish a yearly price, the first year runs from £4,811 to £18,900, and the middle of the range is £9,365.

Are exam fees included?

Almost never. Most online schools leave you to enter your child as a private candidate at an exam centre, which usually costs £200 to £325 per GCSE and £340 to £400 per A level.