GCSE online school fees

14 schools publish a GCSE price (Years 10 and 11). The first year costs from £2,771 to £18,900, with the registration fee and any VAT added. Most online schools teach International GCSEs (IGCSEs), which universities and sixth forms treat like GCSEs. Exams are almost never in the fee.

Year's feeAdded in the first year

  1. CambriLearn 4.5 live hours a week · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £2,700 £2,771
    + registration £71.25
  2. Net School 10 live hours a week · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £5,314 £5,314
    Nothing added in the first year
  3. Queen's Online School 15 to 22 live lessons a week · not accredited
    £6,399 £6,498
    + registration £99
  4. Oxford Online School live lessons, 8am to 5pm · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £6,750 £6,850
    + registration £100
  5. Eton Academy classes of up to 6 · accredited Oct 2024 · VAT not stated clearly
    £7,250 £7,350
    + registration £100
  6. King's InterHigh about 21 live lessons a week · accredited Jan 2026 · VAT not stated clearly
    £7,250 £7,350
    + registration £100
  7. Cambridge Online School classes of up to 10 · accredited Mar 2026
    £8,986 £8,986
    Nothing added in the first year
  8. Minerva's Virtual Academy 2 to 3 live lessons a day · accredited Jul 2024
    £9,365 £9,365
    Nothing added in the first year
  9. Cambridge Home School Online 2 to 4 live hours a week per IGCSE · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £10,950 £11,150
    + registration £200
  10. Highgrove Education live lessons at set times · not accredited · VAT not stated clearly
    £11,750 £11,750
    Nothing added in the first year
  11. International British Online School five one-hour lessons a day · accredited May 2024 · VAT not stated clearly
    £13,040 £14,035
    + registration £995
  12. Wendover Online School groups of up to 6 · accredited Mar 2026
    £14,895 £14,895
    Nothing added in the first year
  13. Sophia High School 25 live hours a week · accredited Oct 2023
    £13,455 £16,246
    + VAT £2,691, registration £100
  14. Wrenmere Oxford classes of up to 10 · accredited Mar 2026
    £18,900 £18,900
    Nothing added in the first year

No yearly price published: TLC LIVE Online School (from £555 a month, invoiced termly).

The first year is the year's fee plus the one-off registration fee, with VAT added where the school adds it for UK families. Deposits that come back aren't counted. Read on 2 November 2026; a school's own page always wins.

What the chart doesn't show

How much is live. CambriLearn and Minerva's and Highgrove mix live lessons with work on your own, so they cost less but ask more of your child. A school with classes of 6 to 10 will feel very different from one where some lessons are lectures to 50.

Exams. Only a few schools run their own exam centre, and none includes the entry fees. Sitting exams as a private candidate explains what that costs.

Questions

What is the cheapest online school for GCSE?

CambriLearn, at £2,771 for the first year including its registration fee. The cheapest with a full live timetable is Net School, at £5,314. Exams are extra at almost every school.

How much does an online school cost for GCSE?

Across the 14 schools that publish a yearly price, the first year runs from £2,771 to £18,900, and the middle of the range is £9,176.

Are exam fees included?

Almost never. Most online schools leave you to enter your child as a private candidate at an exam centre, which usually costs £200 to £325 per GCSE and £340 to £400 per A level.